Today Current Affairs - Latest Current Affairs - Current Affairs

Click for Special Gk Quiz Free Mock Test in English Free Mock Test in Hindi Monthly Current Affairs
Facebook Twitter google+ Pinterest

Kiren Rijiju honored Arjuna award to Rohan Bopanna and Smriti Mandhana

Kiren Rijiju honored  Arjuna award to Rohan Bopanna and Smriti Mandhana

Union Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju has recently honored Indian women's cricket team's cricketer Smriti Mandhana and tennis player Rohan Bopanna with the Arjuna Award. Both the players have expressed their happiness on getting the Arjuna Award.

It is worth noting that during the awards ceremony held in Rashtrapati Bhavan, both the players were not given the Arjuna Award because they were out of the country to participate in international tournaments. Kiran Rijiju praised both the players for contributing to the game and the country.

Smriti Mandhana

  • Smriti Mandhana was born on July 18, 1996 in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
  • Smriti Mandhana is an Indian female cricketer.
  • Smriti  primarily bat with the left hand.
  • She played his first Test match against England at Wormsley Park.
  • She is the only Indian woman player to join the ICC Women's Team in 2016.
  • She is India's youngest captain in T20 International.
  • Smriti took over the command of T-20 International Indian Women's Cricket Team at 22 years and 229 days.
  • She became the number One batsman in the world's ODI cricket in February 2019.
  • She have been performing well in the ODIs since the beginning of 2018.
  • Mandhana made 669 runs in 12 ODIs and 622 runs in 25 T20s in 2018.
  • Smriti has a record of having half-century in 24 balls against New Zealand in the Women's T20 2019 on the behalf of India.
  • The ICC also awarded the 2018 Women's Player of the Year award to Smriti Mandhana.

Rohan Bopanna

  • Rohan Bopanna was born on 04 March 1980.
  • Rohan Bopanna is an Indian professional tennis player.
  • He has won the Mixed Doubles French Open title and his best ranking is three in the doubles.
  • He has also played in Asiad and Olympics from India and has won gold medal in Asian Games in 2018.
  • He is a member of the Indian Davis Cup team since 2002.
  • He has played twice in Grand Slam Mixed Doubles.
  • He made his name in the title of the French Open with Gabriella Dabrowski  in 2017.
  • He was the fourth Indian player to win the Grand Slam title.

Arjuna Award

  • Arjuna Award is a prize given to the players.
  • This award is given by the Indian government for outstanding performance in the field of sports.
  • The award was instituted in 1961.
  • The players are given a reward of five lakh rupees, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a citation.
Q.1 Which Indian Female Cricketer received Arjuna Award 2019?
A. Jhulan Goswami
B. Ekta Bisht
C. Smriti Mandhana
D. Mithali Raj
Ans: Smriti Mandhana
Q.2 Who is the fourth Indian player to win the Grand Slam title?
A. Mahesh Bhupati
B. Rohan Bopanna
C. Leander Paes
D. Prakash Padukone
Ans: Rohan Bopanna

Recent Post

Examlover website provide all Latest Current Affairs & Today Current Affairs 2018 for better preparation of UPSC, SSC, Banking, Railway, Defence and all government exams. Daily Current Affairs 2018 news summary on current events of national and international importance for all government competitive examinations. Current affairs preparation for govt. exams, so you can visit here for Current Affairs GK, Today GK, Daily Quiz, Daily GK and Current Affairs Quiz etc. You can also find here all the study material and learning data for One Day Exams, Online Exams and Offline Exams preparation. All types current affairs category here and uncategorized current affairs updates by us day to day related government schemes, publics deals, politics, Sports Science & Technology and miscellaneous news which is very important and useful in all government exams like UPSC, SSC, Banking, Railway, Medical etc.